Nocturne in Nauvoo

One cold winter morning before sunrise I was on my way to paint a church in a small town, Nauvoo, PA but then I crossed a bridge and saw this view. I had other plans for painting so I took pictures, and tried to remember the feel and color values. I did get out and quickly painted a sketch of the lay of the land so I didn’t have to rely on my photos for that.

The picture of this painting didn’t turn out so great, this is one you have to see in real life.

nocturneinnauvoo12x16

Leave a Reply

